How social businesses generate social impact

22.04.2021 Blog

by Kirsten Tangemann

People who start or run a social business pursue a mission. Their main goal is to achieve a positive social or environmental impact. They work on new approaches to solving social challenges, develop social innovations and market them as products or services. Whether a problem is being recognized as such by society and considered to be important determines how the impact of solving the problem is perceived. The United Nations Sustainable Development Goals highlight critical challenges of our world. Mission and activities of the social enterprises presented in this report can be assigned to these goals. 

A social business is a hybrid organization that pursues its mission of establishing a social or environmental goal and at the same time generates profits. It has to operate in a profitable way to be financially sustainable in the long run. Matching these goals is an extremely demanding task. In general, generating social value requires additional efforts on top of running an economically sustainable business. Both dimensions are important: non-profitable tasks, or keeping the focus on specific target groups that cannot be integrated into a business model as well as commercial activities that secure a living. Social entrepreneurs are therefore often confronted with complex management tasks, organizational forms and hybrid financing structures. 

There are different ways in which a social business can combine impact with an economic business model (see Vandor et al, 20151). In an integrated approach impact is directly generated through commercial activities. Target groups are part of the model either as employees of the company, as users of services or as customers. When customers and beneficiaries differ the situation is more complex and a differentiated impact business model applies. “Sustainable” businesses generate impact by using environmentally sustainable processes, products or services. In many cases, operation of a  social enterprise does not only involve one type of business model. Mixed forms are implemented either by way of entering new markets or reaching new target groups.

1. Integrated Social Business – company employees as target group

The company has a certain vulnerable segment of the population as its target group and wants to (re) integrate this group into social life through employment and thus improve their living conditions (cf. Vandor et al. 20151). In contrast to non-profit organizations and socio-economic companies, which provide jobs for people furthest from the labor market and long-term unemployed, social enterprises also strive for market income or the generation of profits (which are reinvested in the spirit of the mission).

Figure 1: Integrated Social Business with employees as target group (adapted from Vandor et al., 2015)
  • Atempo employs people with learning difficulties who assess how well digital products and services are designed for people with disabilities and if they meet their needs.
  • Heidenspass runs an upcycling design workshop as a social work project for young people who are not integrated into the labor market. At the same time, Heidenspass creates awareness of (re) use of resources through workshops in schools and companies.
  • Klarwasser OG offers a digital operating system which supports the members of water cooperatives.

2. Integrated Social Business – customers as target group

In this impact model, the beneficiaries or customers are part of the commercial model and are directly integrated into the business model. The products directly benefit customers, this might be a (disadvantaged) population group or the population in a low-income country.

Figure 2 : Integrated Social Business with customers as target group (adapted from Vandor et al., 2015)
  • The property management and consulting company Dahir combines property management with active, personal relationship management. The socio-economic real estate management pursues the goal of reconciling the needs of tenants, owners and stakeholders, thus creating an advantage for all involved parties.
  • Instahelp offers individual and flexible psychological online-consulting services which are available on short notice and are provided by experienced psychologists via the “digital platform for mental health”.
  • Dignisense provides innovative care solutions to support aging with dignity. An innovative technological solution detects incontinence episodes and offers motion monitoring of people in need of care. This supports caregivers to better meet the needs of persons in their care.
  • Stadtlabor  is an innovation lab for livable and sustainable cities and communities. Urban transformation processes are initiated with partnerships between urban actors and co-creation of spaces fostering creativity, inspiration and joint learning. Thus, districts, quarters and locations are further developed.
  • In the tailoring shop Unperfekt fashion is tailored for people with physical disabilities.
  • Schau aufs Land inspires travelers with a digital camping guide to discover new places in Austria and get to know sustainable farms, wineries and manufacturers.
  • Vom Land provides farmers with an app to market their regional products online.
  • Factinsect uses an automated “fact checker” system to check Internet sources and supports users in assessing how trustworthy information on the Internet is.

3. Differentiated Social Business

If customers and the target group differ, as the target group might have limited income to pay for the service, a social enterprise can still address the target group by developing cross-financing models. The success of the commercial activity is crucial for sustainable impact, so that resources can be transferred from the commercial to the social activity. A particular challenge of this model is to keep the balance between economic and social activities. Regular contact with beneficiaries and a good understanding of their needs is required as these might change over time.

Figure 3: Differentiated Social Business (vgl. Vandor et al. 2015)
  • The platform Sindbad connects companies with young people with disadvantages in education. The objective is to develop new perspectives for young people leaving school. They are offered mentoring programs and personal development courses and match-making between companies and apprentices is supported.
  • Migrabilis supports people with refugee or migrant backgrounds and offers self-competence and mental health training to support them in developing their potential.

4. Sustainable Business with ecological impact

Many social enterprises do not address a specific target group, but rather pursue ecological sustainability goals. Around three quarters of the Styrian social enterprises fall into this category. A positive impact on the environment is achieved with sustainable, resource-effective production, the use of ecological, biological and environmentally friendly materials and with sustainable energy generation and mobility concepts. The social goal is to raise awareness of consumers and to change their behavior.

Figure 4: Sustainable Business (adapted from Vandor et al., 2015) 
  • As a professional IT refurbisher Compuritas creates ecological and social added value especially for the educational sector by providing inexpensive access to high quality IT infrastructure.
  • Tres Hombres transports fair trade products from the Caribbean to Europe by sailing ship, the transported goods are then processed into rum and chocolate.
  • As an organic wholesaler das Gramm and das Dekagramm offer packaging-free, sustainably produced regional food as well as hygiene and household items. The social goal is to make customers aware how important it is to avoid packaging waste.

[1]Vandor, P., Millner, R., Moder, C., Schneider, H., Meyer, M. (2015): Das Potential von Social Business in Österreich. Wien: Wirtschaftsuniversität Wien, NPO & SE Kompetenzzentrum.

Related posts

12.04.2021

We’ve moved

With the establishment of the Social Business Hub, we are moving from the innovative Science Tower to the not less exciting Startup-up and Innovation Center (UNICORN) directly…

Read more

Wie Social Businesses gesellschaftliche Wirkung erzielen

22.04.2021 Blog

Beitrag von Kirsten Tangemann

Personen, die ein Social Business gründen oder betreiben setzen sich für eine Mission ein. Ihr Hauptziel ist es, eine positive gesellschaftliche oder auch ökologische Wirkung zu erzielen. Sie arbeiten an neuen Lösungsansätzen für gesellschaftliche oder ökologische Problemstellungen, entwickeln soziale Innovationen und bringen diese in Form von Dienstleistungen oder Produkten auf den Markt. Inwieweit das bearbeitete Problemfeld als solches von der Gesellschaft anerkannt wird und diesem eine Bedeutung zugemessen wird, bestimmt in hohem Maße, wie die Wirkung wahrgenommen wird. Die Sustainable Development Goals der Vereinten Nationen gelten als Ziele von großer Bedeutung, und die Mission und die Aktivitäten der in diesem Report dargestellten Social Enterprises lassen sich diesen Zielen zuordnen.

Ein Social Business ist eine hybride Organisation, die einerseits ihre Mission in Gestalt eines sozialen oder ökologischen Ziels verfolgt, andererseits auch Gewinne erwirtschaftet und langfristig nachhaltig arbeiten muss. Diese Ziele zu vereinbaren stellt eine äußerst anspruchsvolle Aufgabe dar. Häufig bedarf die Generierung eines gesellschaftlichen Werts zusätzlicher Anstrengungen, um der Mission gerecht zu werden. Beides ist wichtig: Nicht-gewinnbringende Aufgaben oder Zielgruppen, die sich nicht in ein Geschäftsmodell integrieren lassen, müssen ebenso im Fokus bleiben wie die existenzsichernden, kommerziellen Aktivitäten. Häufig sehen sich SozialunternehmerInnen daher mit komplexen Managementaufgaben, Organisationsformen sowie hybriden Finanzierungsstrukturen konfrontiert.  

Social Businesses verbinden ihre gesellschaftliche (soziale und ökologische) Wirkung in unterschiedlicher Weise mit einem wirtschaftlichen Geschäftsmodell (siehe Vandor et al, 2015 [1]). So gibt es Modelle, bei denen die Wirkung direkt in die kommerziellen Aktivitäten integriert wird, indem die Zielgruppen entweder MitarbeiterInnen des Unternehmens sind oder aber LeistungsempfängerInnen bzw. KundInnen des Unternehmens. Komplexer ist die Situation in einem differenzierten Social Business, bei dem sich die Kunden und die Begünstigten unterscheiden. „Sustainable“ Businesses erzielen ihre Wirkung durch ökologisch-nachhaltige Prozesse, Produkte oder Dienstleistungen. Vielfach basieren funktionierende Sozialunternehmen nicht nur auf einem dieser genannten Modelle sondern setzen in der Praxis Mischformen um, sei es durch die Entwicklung neuer Geschäftsfelder oder durch die Erschließung weiterer Zielgruppen. 

1. Integriertes Social Business – MitarbeiterInnen des Unternehmens als Zielgruppe

Das Social Business hat eine bestimmte benachteiligte Bevölkerungsgruppe als Zielgruppe und will diese Gruppe durch Beschäftigung (wieder) in das gesellschaftliche Leben integrieren und damit ihre Lebensbedingungen verbessern (vgl. Vandor et al. 2015). Im Unterschied zu Non-Profit-Organisationen und sozialökonomischen Betrieben, die Arbeitsplätze für arbeitsmarktferne und langzeitbeschäftigungslose Menschen zur Verfügung stellen, streben SozialunternehmerInnen auch Markteinkünfte bzw. die Erzielung von Gewinnen an (die im Sinne der Mission reinvestiert werden).

Abbildung 1: Integriertes Social Business – MitarbeiterInnen als Zielgruppe (vgl. Vandor et al. 2015)
  • Atempo beschäftigt Menschen mit Lernschwierigkeiten, die beurteilen, wie gut digitale Produkte und Dienstleistungen für beeinträchtigte Menschen und deren Bedürfnisse tatsächlich konzipiert sind.
  • Heidenspass betreibt eine Upcycling-Design-Werkstatt als soziales Arbeitsprojekt für arbeitsmarktferne Jugendliche. Gleichzeitig schafft Heidenspass Bewusstsein für Ressourcen und deren (Wieder-) Verwendung über Workshops in Schulen und Betrieben.
  • Im Fall der Klarwasser OG unterstützt ein digitales Betriebssystem die Mitglieder von Wassergenossenschaften.

2. Integriertes Social Business – die KundInnen als Zielgruppe

In diesem Wirkungsmodell sind die LeistungsempfängerInnen bzw. KundInnen Teil des kommerziellen Modells und direkt in das Geschäftsmodell eingebunden. Die angebotenen Produkte entfalten bei den KundInnen, beispielsweise bei einer (benachteiligten) Bevölkerungsgruppe oder der Bevölkerung in einem Entwicklungsland, ihre Wirkung

Abbildung 2: Integriertes Social Business – KundInnen als Zielgruppe (vgl. Vandor et al. 2015)
  • Das Hausverwaltungs- und Consultingunternehmen Dahir verbindet Immobilienverwaltung mit aktivem, persönlichem Beziehungsmanagement. Das sozioökonomische Immobilienmanagement verfolgt das Ziel, die Bedürfnisse von MieterInnen, EigentümerInnen und Stakeholdern zum Nutzen aller Beteiligten zu vereinbaren.
  • Instahelp bietet über die „digitale Plattform für mentale Gesundheit“ individuelle, zeitlich flexible und kurzfristig abrufbare Online-Beratung durch erfahrene PsychologInnen an.
  • Ziel von Dignisense ist es, mit innovativen Pflegelösungen Altern in Würde zu ermöglichen. Eine innovative technologische Lösung unterstützt Pflegepersonal durch die Erkennung von Inkontinenz-Episoden und Bewegungsüberwachung dabei, den Bedürfnissen von Pflegebedürftigen gerecht zu werden.
  • Das Stadtlabor ist ein Innovationslabor für lebenswerte und nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden. Über Partnerschaften zwischen urbanen AkteurInnen und das kooperative Schaffen von Räumen für Kreativität, Inspiration und gemeinsames Lernen werden urbane Transformationsprozesse eingeleitet und Stadtteile, Quartiere und Standorte weiterentwickelt.
  • In der Meisterschneiderei Unperfekt wird für Menschen mit körperlichen Einschränkungen Mode maßgeschneidert.
  • Schau aufs Land inspiriert Reisende mit einem digitalen Camping-Guide, neue Orte in Österreich zu entdecken und dabei nachhaltige Bauernhöfe, Weingüter und Manufakturen kennenzulernen.
  • Vom Land stellt Bauern eine App zur Verfügung, mit der sie ihre regionalen Produkte online vermarkten können.
  • Factinsect überprüft mittels eines automatisierten „Fakten-Checker“-Systems Internetquellen und unterstützt NutzerInnen bei der Einschätzung wie vertrauenswürdig Informationen im Internet sind.

3. Differenziertes Social Business

Wenn sich KundInnen und die Zielgruppe unterscheiden, weil die Zielgruppe beispielsweise zu arm ist, um für die Leistung zu bezahlen, so können Social Businesses sich mit einer Querfinanzierung behelfen. Dabei ist der Erfolg der kommerziellen Aktivität für eine nachhaltige Wirkung entscheidend, so dass Mittel von der kommerziellen auf die soziale Tätigkeit übertragen werden können. Eine besondere Herausforderung besteht dabei in der Ausbalancierung der wirtschaftlichen und sozialen Aktivitäten, für die der Kontakt zu den Begünstigten und ihrer sich im Laufe der Zeit entwickelnden Bedürfnisse essentiell ist.

Abbildung 3: Differenziertes Social Business (vgl. Vandor et al. 2015)
  • Die Plattform Sindbad verbindet Unternehmen mit bildungsbenachteiligten Jugendlichen. Mit Mentoringprogrammen und Persönlichkeitstraining werden mit Schulabgänger*innen neue Perspektiven entwickelt und Lehrlinge für Unternehmen rekrutiert.
  • Migrabilis unterstützt Menschen mit Flucht- bzw. Migrationsbiografien mit Angebotenzu wirtschaftlicher Basisbildung, Selbstkompetenz und Mentaltraining bei der Entfaltung ihrer Potenziale.

4. Sustainable Business (ökologisch-nachhaltiges Unternehmen)

Viele Social Enterprises richten sich nicht an eine konkrete Zielgruppe, sondern verfolgen ökologische Nachhaltigkeitsziele. Rund drei Viertel der steirischen Social Businesses fallen in diesen Bereich. Die positive Wirkung auf die Umwelt wird durch nachhaltige, ressourcenschonende Produktion, den Einsatz ökologischer, biologischer und umweltfreundlicher Materialien sowie durch nachhaltige Energiegewinnung und Mobilitätskonzepte erzielt. Ziel ist es, das Bewusstsein von VerbraucherInnen zu schärfen und deren Verhalten zu verändern.

Abbildung 4: Sustainable Business (vgl. Vandor et al. 2015)
  • Compuritas schafft als professioneller IT-Refurbisher speziell für den Bildungsbereich ökologischen und sozialen Mehrwert durch kostengünstigen Zugang zu qualitativ hochwertiger IT-Infrastruktur.
  • Tres Hombres transportiert emissionsfrei per Segelschiff fair gehandelte Produkte aus der Karibik nach Europa, die zu Rum und Schokolade weiterverarbeitet werden.
  • das Gramm und das Dekagramm bieten als Bio-Greisslerei verpackungsfreie, regional und nachhaltig produzierte Lebensmittel sowie Hygiene- und Haushaltsartikel an. Bei KundInnen soll Bewusstsein für die Vermeidung von Verpackungsmüll geschaffen werden.

[1]Vandor, P., Millner, R., Moder, C., Schneider, H., Meyer, M. (2015): Das Potential von Social Business in Österreich. Wien: Wirtschaftsuniversität Wien, NPO & SE Kompetenzzentrum.

Ähnliche Beiträge

08.04.2021

Neues Format „Impact Tuesday“

Du möchtest mehr über Social Entrepreneurship erfahren? Du suchst Kontakt zu Stakeholdern in der Szene? Oder du möchtest einfach locker zum Thema Weltrettung plaudern? Dann…

Mehr lesen